Fix : Error synchronizing MacPorts sources: command execution failed

I have started my journey with Ruby last week with a new shiny mac book 🙂 . This is the first time I am using mac and I am new to Ruby ecosystem as well. So I have deployed RVM (Ruby Version manager) to upgrade the default ruby from 1.8.3 to 2.0.0. That is when I got this error “Error synchronizing MacPorts sources: command execution failed”. Spent almost 2 hours trying to find the issue. So sharing it so that I can save your 2 hours :).

After googling I found the that the problem is I am running the command behind proxy. So just connect to net directly and run the command it will work :).

Leave a Reply

